T Nation

Cerebral_Balsy's Building a Base

I am not a complete beginner and have tried more advanced things but I realize that I need to go back and build a bigger foundation. So without further a do:

Beginner Shit:

Squat 3x5
Bench 3x5
Pull-ups working up in an intelligent method
Some scalp retraction work
Light bi/tri work, keep my elbows happy

That's it do, I do this on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. I started the weights conservatively to have room to build up. So here was today's workout for example:

Squat 3x5@ 235
Bench 3x5@ 185 Only got 4 on the last set, no spot so I didn't want to risk it
Pull ups BW 10,8,7
Scalp, bi, tri work

Well, worked my way up to a 250 squat but my knee has been bothering me(reconstructed ACL) so I decided to drop back down to 225 for squats. And I will clean up my form a little, my descent is just to fast for my knee at this frequency. Bench has been going will got all of my reps at 200 on Friday and it was not to hard. If it keeps going at this pace it is going to get dangerously close to my squat. Which I don't understand why it is so low. I mean they are literal ATG squats but I can deadlift 385 and that just seems like a really big gap. And I am having no shoulder or elbow problems from benching so much. I really think it is from all the face pulls and external rotations I do at the end of the workout.

Oh, feel free to ask me any questions or leave any comments or suggestions. Thanks.

Monday 2/28/11

Squat 3x5: 225:5,5,5 pretty easy form felt great, knee is adjusting to frequency well
Bench 3x5: 205:5,5,4 felt ok should get it on wedneday
Wide grip pull ups body weight 10,10,8
Some face pulls and tri pushdown for pump, makes my elbows happy

Wednesday 3/2/11

Squat 3x5:230:5,5,5 knee feels good, and I am cleaning up my form also
Bench 3x5:205:5,5,5 got em all, felt heavy though, can't imagine how 400 feels
Wide grip pulls ups 3x10:10,10,9 slowly going up, which is good because I also weigh more