T Nation

Celebration time

i have a big event coming up in my life and i haven’t drank since i started lifting hard about three years ago. i really want to celebrate this night so i was just wondering what everyone thought was the least harmless alcohol to drink. i realize that alcohol is hard on the body but i’m talking more along the lines of calorie content and that type of stuff. any other suggestions about alcohol consumption would also be appreciated.

I really wonder if there is such a thing as the “least” harmless alcoholic beverage. Truth is, I don’t think such a thing exists.

My first choice, as always, is beer. Good, old fashion beer. Can't mess up a good beer. One thing you should think of is this: after going "cold turkey" for three years, your tolerance will be practically nil. If you've been watching your nutrition, training, etc. - it'll be quite a shock to your body, too. I know this from experience. One beer, after just several months of not drinking, and had been eating "right", training, will kick my ass. And I'm not a lightweight. So you better take it really slow and easy when you reintroduce alcohol back into your bod.

Beer is the only answer (for me). Your tolerance will be so low that you won’t even be able to drink enough for calories to be a concern (believe me, I’ve done it). So go ahead and celebrate! Just take it slow, your system doesn’t know what alcohol is anymore.

the amount of alcohol is supposedly equal in each type of serving. calorie wise i would go with a light beer. make sure you drink plenty of water and don’t drink and drive. If you do plan on getting drunk make sure you give your self atleast one full day of stress free recuperation with a lot of water consumption and testosterone boosters. laters pk