T Nation

Catabolic Situation

I've been training for 3 years. However, I am going through one of those 1st time for everything moments. Here's my dilemma:

I have been in France for 3 weeks now, and will spend a further 5 weeks here. I am in a rather small town, with no gym worth going to (there's a ladies gym with them little plastic weights and like 30 treadmills). This means that I won't be able to train here very easily, since push ups/bodyweight exercises seem a waste of time 'cuz they real easy. This puts me, by the end of January at 9 weeks without touching a weight.

Furthermore, the French don't really eat too much, and the people that I am staying with are french... So there is no 4000 calorie diet here. Just the basic 3 meals a day of the average desk worker.

I have already lose about 12 lbs here (or more!!!). I am not sure what exactly it is, but I guess 8 pounds is inter-cellular (I tend to get pretty rounded thanks to this... Also when I train, I am on a constant bulking diet i.e. eat lots of everything) water, 2 pounds fat and 2 pounds muscle.

I just wanna know if 9 weeks of no training and a not-anabolic diet will do negative gains to me. I really don't wanna be smaller than I am now (5 ft 10 @ 174lbs), it will suck.
I feel weaker and mu muscles are definitely not as full as they were 4 weeks ago. Perhaps its just the under-usage of fascia, but then again, I don't quite know.

What should I expect from this? I have ok genetics, so how long do you think it will take to get back to my normal strength/size (bench 270, weight 186)? I dunno if it shows, but I'm 16.

I wanna get to a solid 202 lbs by the end of 2011.

*Moderator: I am not sure where exactly to post this, so if you'd rather re-allocate this post, please tell me where you put it. I figured beginner, cuz this is my first ever catabolic period of my life.

Yes. If you don't train for ~9 weeks you will lose some lean mass.