Carpel Tunnel?

okay so i have been training for 3-4 years now and just recently my ring finger and the rest of the left side of my left hand has been tingly like it has fallen asleep and its like that for what feels like 60-70% of the time. i was doing DB shrugs and held the wieght just fine in my right hand but could barely keep it in my left so it definately affecting grip strength. i was talking about this and my girl friend’s mom said it might be carpel tunnel syndrome. any thoughts???

Can you tell if it’s the front AND back of the fingers/hand or just the front (palm side)? It could be carpal tunnel, but it could also be a cervical nerve root problem (pinched nerve in your neck). The pinky and half of the ring finger are innervated by the C8 nerve root.

[quote]Dr J wrote:
Can you tell if it’s the front AND back of the fingers/hand or just the front (palm side)? It could be carpal tunnel, but it could also be a cervical nerve root problem (pinched nerve in your neck). The pinky and half of the ring finger are innervated by the C8 nerve root.[/quote]
its front and back but the pinky is worse than the ring finger. i’m on the computer a lot and i lean on my left elbow. could that be it?

It could possibly be ulnar nerve entrapment at the elbow, but I sure am suspicious of the possibility of neck trouble.

[quote]Dr J wrote:
It could possibly be ulnar nerve entrapment at the elbow, but I sure am suspicious of the possibility of neck trouble.[/quote]
well i have it today and this is the first time ive been on the computer today

[quote]jearbear wrote:

[quote]Dr J wrote:
It could possibly be ulnar nerve entrapment at the elbow, but I sure am suspicious of the possibility of neck trouble.[/quote]
well i have it today and this is the first time ive been on the computer today[/quote]