T Nation

Caroline's Log

Hello everyone, I was hoping that you guys might be able to offer me a little advice as these days I seem to be continuously confused about my training !

I was hoping that if I ran by you what I have been up to and what I am hoping to achieve, you guys might be able to tell me if im heading in the right kind of direction !!

Ok well Ive been lifting for a couple of months now, not a great deal but im still kind of getting used to the idea. And, I have even managed to work out what my goals are, which has been so hard as I think probably like most people I want it all ! So, my main priority is to get leaner, in a smaller way, i.e. no increase in size, decrease my body fat percent, and hopefully from that get more definition inside my current size if that makes sense, and also hopefully get a bit stronger, but this is not my main priority, hopefully this will just happen a little a long the way.

So mostly, I do a full body work out trying to do as many compound type exercises in there as possible, twice a week (so everything gets it twice). Some times I split my work out over 2 days if im short on time, but mostly I try to do it all in one day. I normally do 2 sets of everything, 15 reps, except when i do squats I normally do 3 sets for some reason. I seem to be the only person in my gym doing squats, DLs etc etc, whats with all these guys just doing bench press and concentration curls, hmm! Anyway, so for squats im doing 30kg, bent over rows 20kg, I seem to hover around 20 or 30 kg for most things, all at 2 sets of 15.

Ive then been trying to fit in a spinning class in the week, and also I do kickboxing on a Thursday night, so I usually train M,T wed rest or just more light cardio, T, F on. Sat & Sun rest.