T Nation

Carb Cycling vs. Leangains

I've been doing Leangains for about 2 months now, and eating paleo for about a year. I like the idea of LG, as well as the huge PWO feasts I've stayed lean with some muscle gain since starting LG. I've also been upping my calories quite a bit since I started doing LG after I had been on diet with deficits on both WO and REST days. I'm about 170 lbs, 6'1", I haven't actually checked my bodyfat with calipers, but its somewhere between 12%-15%, im guessing (arms&shoulders very lean, not posting situation-sixpack).

I'm starting Wendler's 5/3/1 this week. I do not looking forward to gain any substantial weight. Strength gains are my main goal, and I do not mind a weight gain as long fat gain remains minimal. I've spent the last week finding out my 1RMs and getting a general feel of the assistance work.

My question, however, relates to nutrition. While Leangains probably might be fine for 5/3/1, lately I've been reading a lot about carb cycling with high, moderate and low/no carb days, with even fairly lean individuals are often suggested only 2 high-carb days, 3 moderate days and 2 low days.

I've been doing leangains with high (about 350-380 grams carbs) every workout day, which usually are 4 times a week (either 1 day workout - 1 day rest or 2 days workout - 1 day rest split), and rest days have been around 100-115 grams carbs. Cals have been 2000 on rest days and 2900-3000 on workout days. Protein always 200-250 grams, fat 40-50 grams on WO days and 85-100 on rest days.