Carb Confusion

Background info: 18 years old. Been lifting for almost 6 months, currently at 5’10" 146 lbs. I’m guessing BF% is in the high teens. Obviously trying to gain. I just finished week two of Dan John’s Mass Made Simple program as described here: Mass Made Simple. The training is going fine, but I need to get serious about my diet.

I have read some articles on this site about nutrition, probably too many because I’ve gotten so much conflicting information. I know nutrition is an individualized thing, but I’m not very good at reading the signals my body is sending. But I can definitely tell that I don’t handle carbs well. Obviously I’m not afraid of vegetables and some fruit, but I generally don’t feel well eating grains and I’d prefer to avoid them.

I understand the need for PWO nutrition so I get about 30g of carbs both before and after lifting. Other than that, I get a few trace carbs (nuts, eggs) and decent amounts of vegetables. Off days I eat the same, minus PWO of course. Even on supposedly “low carb” or CKD type diets the total carb intake is much higher, but since I’ve got so little muscle my body won’t store too much glycogen anyway. I’m definitely getting a surplus and plenty of protein, so am I going to hold myself back by staying at 80-90g on lifting days and 40-50g on off days?

Thanks,
NM

It’s gonna be really hard to gain with a carb intake that low. Try doubling your off and tripling your training day intake. That’s my take on it.

Can’t hurt to experiement with low carbs, have you read the 100 gram a day article? You should be able to still make gains if you’re eating low carbs as long as they are centered around your workout. Obviously you should choose your priority, gaining muscle or losing fat though.

As an underweight, under-muscled teen (no offense, just laying it out), I don’t really think a low-carb diet is the best idea.

However, if you don’t “feel” well with certain carbs, we can certainly work around it to some extent.