Car Buying

Hey guys,

I’m planning on buying a car and trying to find all the information possible. I don’t want to get screwed with a bad deal and/or a bad car. What are some tips that I should know when I go car buying. Is CARMAX any a good? Are the prices they list on their website legit or do they start to add all the bullshit fees at the end? Thanks guys!

I actually use to sell cars for a major import dealer, and there are few things to consider. Wwhat kind of car are you looking to buy? What are you prepared to spend? What are you trading in, etc.?

New or used?

Well, I’m willing to pay a down payment of about $3000 to $4000. I a car thats new or used but no older than 3 years.

Donk,
I am a sales manager at a used car dealer (76 stores across the U.S.).
First off DO NOT tell the dealer how much DP you have to put down on the car.
IMO CarMax will cut your ass to the bone and leave you hemorraging (SP?).
Definately buy used and go for 2-3 yrs old so some other dumbass takes the depreciation. Shop some dealers and ask them their bottom line price. DO NOT fill out any credit apps before making a decision on where you are going to buy. Don’t want a million inquiries on your credit making that Beacon score drop like a bomb.
When shopping make sure you know what their processing fee is and expect to pay it. Some are reasonable and some are not so take that into account when making a decision based on price.
Any other ?'s feel free to PM me.
Good luck.

i was looking to buy a car, but didnt get one. but from my research, it seems that carmax prices tend to be higher.

What i did was find a friend who is real good with cars. fixing, rebuilding all that, and I would search on autotrader or cars.com yahoo autos and find some used cars. And then id take my friend with me and look at the car and drive it. And he gives me the thumbs up or down.