T Nation

Captains of Crush Grippers for Forearms

A few months ago I injured my left wrist pretty badly, and as a consequence I can no longer perform wrist curls or reverse wrist curls for my left forearm. As a result it hasn’t really grown much in the past few months, especially in comparison to the rest of me, and this is also effecting my performance on other lifts.

However, recently my friend gave me some old Captains of Crush Grippers he didn’t want, and I’m wondering how good these would be for building up some mass in my left forearm again, and perhaps if there are any areas of the forearm they neglect or something. I also need a plan or routine of what to do as I haven’t really done any serious grip work in a while. Help would be greatly appreciated.
(I have the Trainer, No 1 and No 1.5 if it helps)

I was looking at some of these on craigslist yesterday. I have no experience with them but thought it would help with my forearm training.

have a read here
http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_forum/blog_sports_training_performance_bodybuilding_alpha/lets_talk_forearms

[quote]alit4 wrote:
have a read here
http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_forum/blog_sports_training_performance_bodybuilding_alpha/lets_talk_forearms[/quote]

Thanks for that I’m pretty much sorted now :slight_smile:

I’m personally not sold on the idea that grip training adds any serious size to the forearms. it will help, no doubt, but I feel wrist curls, reverse/hammer/pinwheel curls and sledgehammer movements will do much more for size - from a bbing perspective of course.

And by grip training I was referring to “crushing grip strength” training. Static holds, farmer walk with ehavy DBs etc will be good mass builders imo.

[quote]tribunaldude wrote:
And by grip training I was referring to “crushing grip strength” training. Static holds, farmer walk with ehavy DBs etc will be good mass builders imo.[/quote]