T Nation

Can't Squat My Way Out of a Wet Paper Bag

I have been lifting on and off for a few years and recently started taking it seriously,5/3/1 has been working except my squat form and dead-lift are terrible. I did not train my lower body at all really until now because I am an idiot. My hip flexors hurt after any squatting, my hamstrings are tight and with proper form I cant go anywhere near parallel. My dead-lift is just as bad. My question is this, if any of you have struggled with form on these lifts, what helped you the most to master them?

Stretch and use a foam roller, your muscles aren't used to the strain that squatting and deadlifting puts on your body (read: you're kinda a puss right now). .

Practice makes permanent, practice it correctly in your warm-up sets, don't rush it and do the weight you can do right now.

Even if it's not terribly impressive.

Watching videos on youtube might help also, but what you need is someone who knows what the fuck they're talking about to watch you in real life.

Or short of that post up a video of yourself doing said lifts and folks on here can do their best to help ya out.

Practice, practice, practice. A video camera helps your awareness when it comes to form and depth.

Thanks maybe I am getting ahead of myself, I will keep working on it, these things take time. I found some mobility and flexibility stuff to work on too.

I avoided squats up until about a month ago, due to a torn quad a few years ago. I just got pain in that area whenever squatting. When i realised actually training it, instead of avoiding it, would cure me, i decided to do it again. I started off with just the bar 4 x 10 , then each workout adding 10 kgs. Always atg, so your body gets used to it. Im upto 110kg x 5 now and no pain. Different example but same principle.