T Nation

Can't Make up My Mind on Training Program

Well, I've been weight training for about 8 years now. Last year I decided to train for a marathon. After the 10 mile mark I had to stop lifting until the training was over due tothe intensity needed for long distance. Now Afterwards I want to get back into weight conditioning shape. Thanks to all that running, I have a gut. I was more muscular at the time, and I guess the muscle started breaking down into fat after I wasn't able to lift for awhile.

Here's my thing, I'm 5'10 and 188 pounds. My ideal weight is around 185, so now I just want to cut down. I have muscle, but my body fat percentage is higher so I'm just "puffier." my problem is, I studied forever on how to bulk, and now I hear tns of conflicting advice. There are some that say to do the "Stronglifsts 5x5" and I'll lean down. Then there are some that say to do HIIT training and higher reps only. It's not that I'm a novice, I just didn't realize all the conflicting info out there. I was good at bulking, now I just want to stop.

PS, When I "bulked" I stated at 155 about 3 years ago. I gained 10 ibs per year.

Hope this makes sense, any suggestions would be appreciated.

Your muscle broke down into fat?

Well it didn't break down into fat, but from not lifting I lost mass and it turned into what I have now. The weight was left over from my previous athletic endeavor. I thought running would keep that from happening but it didn't. Near the end I was running 6-8 miles 2-3 times a week, and a long run of 12-20 miles.

What, were you running backwards or something?

There may be a lot of various, sometimes conflicting advice but you just have to pick something and over time you will know if it works for YOU or not. Honestly, asking for advice on the forums is probably going to get you just as much various advice as you've already read in to.