Can't Keep The Fat Off

So i started lifting this past september(2011) and between september and January i went from 160 to 190 pounds. My BF% went from 10 to 14. However since then, i have stopped putting on muscle and really just been putting on fat.

I know i cant sustain that initial gain rate forever, but i would think that now even if im putting on fat i should be putting on muscle as well. Each time i up my calories to put on muscle, i just end up getting fatter, and it takes me two weeks to drop the fat i put on, and then im back to 190 pounds again.

I know some fat gain is expected when adding mass but still. My diet is pretty good 5-6 meals a day, lots of protein, mostly healthy cars(brown rice, fruit vegetables). I work out usually 6 times a week for an hour, working a three day split. I don’t do much cardio as i’ve heard that that can impede muscle growth.

So what do i need to do to start adding muscle again and keep the fat off as much as possible? Thanks alot

By the way im 6’3. I know im skinny but im working on it.

what do you consider lotss of protein?

[quote]Colton28 wrote:
So i started lifting this past september(2011) and between september and January i went from 160 to 190 pounds. My BF% went from 10 to 14. However since then, i have stopped putting on muscle and really just been putting on fat. I know i cant sustain that initial gain rate forever, but i would think that now even if im putting on fat i should be putting on muscle as well. Each time i up my calories to put on muscle, i just end up getting fatter, and it takes me two weeks to drop the fat i put on, and then im back to 190 pounds again. I know some fat gain is expected when adding mass but still. My diet is pretty good 5-6 meals a day, lots of protein, mostly healthy cars(brown rice, fruit vegetables). I work out usually 6 times a week for an hour, working a three day split. I don’t do much cardio as i’ve heard that that can impede muscle growth.