T Nation

Can't Hold Weight

Hi everyone,

I've been training for two years, and have had some decent gains. I'm building a business that means I am often away from any gym for days on end, getting two hours sleep (often in a car) and eating erratically, but as often as I am able. Honestly, I don't need to hear man up and train, I love training, and it's killing me not to be able to do it, but I do not have the time or opportunity at the moment to do anything other than the odd pressup or chin up from a tree branch.

In the past month, I have lost 14lbs of muscle, more than half an inch on my arms, and am generally reverting very quickly to my natural weight. I'm looking at getting some bands, so that I can do some basic stuff, for reps, when I'm stood in the middle of nowhere. For the nxt few months though, training is going to be erratic at best.

Anyone have this problem? Any ideas on diet for maintaining muscle gains? I was 6'1 185lbs, 10-12%bf.

I am down to 171lbs, at a lower bodyfat.

The only way of maintaining gains.... is maintaining gains. Meaning, your muscles definitely need stimulation in order to "stay alive" and not have the body "optimize" itself.

So two things will allow you to maintain:

1) Eating at a maintenance(or surplus) calorie level

2) Stimulating muscles, even if it isn't max-effort or to failure.

Obviously doing only one of these will still be beneficial for maintenance, but obviously not as beneficial as doing both of them.

Perhaps, until you are able to find a more consistent schedule, you should invest in a weighted-vest and things like these, and get into weighted push-ups, weighted body-squats etc. That would give you some flexibility and also save you time since all you would have to do is open the trunk of your car for your own gym.

Edit: putting on a vest and sprinting up hills sounds pretty amazing.

Editx2: Colucci probably has some bomb ass exercises you could steal and make a nice 'ghetto' routine.