Cannot Press

Hey, long time lurker here.

Basically I’ve injured my shoulder playing soccer 6 months ago. Doctor says it’s ‘rotator cuff damage, take anti-inflammatories and rest’ - great advice… Originally I could barely move my arm but I’ve been working out normally for the last 3 months or so, with one problem. I can’t press anything above my head without pain.

I’ve no idea how, or if, this will go away so in the mean time I need some kinda workaround. I can do chest work fine but this is my only real front delt stimulation.

Is this enough? (Obviously it’s not optimal). What do you guys with injured shoulders do?

Thanks

[quote]ridgewood wrote:
Hey, long time lurker here.

Basically I’ve injured my shoulder playing soccer 6 months ago. Doctor says it’s ‘rotator cuff damage, take anti-inflammatories and rest’ - great advice… Originally I could barely move my arm but I’ve been working out normally for the last 3 months or so, with one problem. I can’t press anything above my head without pain.

I’ve no idea how, or if, this will go away so in the mean time I need some kinda workaround. I can do chest work fine but this is my only real front delt stimulation.

Is this enough? (Obviously it’s not optimal). What do you guys with injured shoulders do?

Thanks[/quote]

i have a similar issue, i hurt my shoulder earlier in this deployment like 6 months ago and it still hurts. Seemed like for the first month or two it was making progress and then it just stopped getting better. I can bench, and if im really warmed up i can incline. But if i just jump into incline it kills me for a day or two. I cant press anything over my head either. lol good luck i think this type of thing where most people have smooth recoveries in a short period of time and with others it kinda sticks or gets worse until you have to have surgery.