Cannot Develop Triceps

I am a novice lifter with less than one years experience under the bar. I began training with machines PF style, then found T-Nation and exposure to the compounds and since then have not looked back.

Since I have started lifting, I have struggled to develop my triceps. I have spent hours troubleshooting, trying different exercises in different positions, hand positions, pre-exhaustion before pressing, intensity techniques, dropping the weight and intensely concentrating on mmc, you name it and I’ve tried it.

I’ve combed the Internet looking for ways to better recruit and teach the muscle to fire but it’s been to no avail. I’ve started to believe that it could possibly be an inherent lack of muscular control there, as sometimes I can barely flex the damn things. I also think genetics come into play here, as my father has been lifting on and off throughout his life and very consistently for the last few years, and while he has good overall development the back of his arms are also flat.

I am in dire need of advice from somewhere who has been there before, not necessarily with the arms but with an unresponsive muscle that needed to be trained from the ground up, starting with simply teaching it to fire better and how to recruit it in basic movements.

Any constructive statements are welcome! I’ve been dealing with this issue for a while now and would practically kill to add some beef to the backs of my arms.

When all else fails go for high volume or high frequency. (NOT both)

don’t really see how you could do an elbow extension movement without the triceps firing unless your form is horrible.

Making sure I do at least one exercise that emphasises the long head every time I train my triceps has made a huge amount of difference. So PJRs, overhead stuff, shit like that.