Candito Intermediate Program... Thoughts?

To start, I am an intermediate lifter and I have been training conjugate for several months. At some point, I would like to start on a real program, and I wanted opinions on the Candito program. My goals are really just getting stronger. Please just leave your thoughts, thanks!

If you are looking for just pure brutal strength I would recommend a variation of 5/3/1 (there are literally too many to list). There are a multitude of ways to incorporate jumps, cleans, sprints, the works; it is really the best holistic approach to strength training I can think of. I will say that if you are looking lifting to supplement a sport, the Juggernaut method might be for you.

The Candito program is something I would run in-season, just because of it’s high specificity.

For just general strength, Candito does not offer an overhead movement as a main staple, which I take issue with, as it is most certainly the best test of upper body strength. In addition, the deadlift volume is extremely low, AND follows your squat work. From the deadlift point of view, the program is very dependent on your squat driving your deadlift, and the lifter not needing much practice with it.

My personal experience with the program yielded great results with the squat, but mediocre at best results with bench and deadlift.

As with any program, it will work if you buy into it, but I would not recommend it for “just getting stronger”.

This is a powerlifting forum… why are we talking about cleans ??

Thanks, I really appreciate it!

I agree with @khmccarthy. I did like the Candito program for the month or so that I tried it. It is simple, quick workouts and extremely specific to powerlifting.
I jumped ~35lbs on my squat PR during this time. My bench ~5lbs and hard to tell for my deadlift since I switched to Sumo for this program as it seemed to be less stressful for my lower back.