Can`t get in ketosis

Hey guys,

Im going keto for a month or two, but I cant seem to get in ketosis! Its now been more than three days, and I honestly have noe idea what Im doing wrong. Any experienced ketoers out there who could point out some usual mistakes? I`ve avoided aspartam and coffe (just in case).

SquatMan

PS.
Im sorry for posting another diet-question, but Ive been eating like a horse for two months, and both my stomach and wallet need a break now…

what is your daily intake consist of? can’t answer a question unless we have all of the facts.

How much protein are you eating?

Could it be the volume of food you are eating? Always wondered about that…

The first couple of days I`ve only been able to eat 12-13 times my bodyweight, about 60% fat and 40% protein.

I want a detailed list of what you have been eating. Start typing!

What are you using to test for ketosis? If you are using ketostix…make sure they are fresh. they can give false negatives if they are close or past expiration. damp air in bathroom also effects them over time.

assuming that you are doing it right, and that you are using keto sticks to determine whether or not you are in ketosis-here is a couple of tips.

some people can take up to 5 days to enter ketosis-use glucose disposal agents (like ala)

if you are not getting enough fats-the keto sticks only turn if you are excreting EXCESS ketones. just because the stick does not turn does not mean you are not there. bump up your fats for a few days until you are sure you are in.

too much protein-it is possible that your body is trying to use protein as fuel (to convert to glucose), thus keeping you out of ketosis. Duchaine recommended starting at 30%p/70%f to ensure that fat is the primary fuel. you can fine tune from there.

finally, i don’t believe that the keto diet is the best diet-i prefer t-dawg 2 for instance. some people do get more energy in ketosis however-know your own body.