Can Paxil Affect Muscle Gains?

I’m taking Paxil for a chemical imbalance and was wondering if it will affect my muscle gains or will it screw with my neurochemicals and make me gain some fat?

Though different antidepressants vary, all of them do seem to cause weight gain. It has something to do with hormone restriction and reduced metabolism (plus some cravings).

I was on Paxil for 5 years with no increase in BF% (maybe because I started the meds at 16). I switched to Effexor three years ago and gained 30 lbs. in 6 months. I lost most of it when I started lifting 2 years ago, but I gain fat more easily than I should, I think.

I’ve seen no evidence that antidepressants affect muscle gain. It hasn’t been a problem for me. I just reduce my caloric intake to 300-400 cals below what is recommended for gaining at my size and fat gain is not a huge problem.

Not sure about the weight gains, but don’t stop taking it cold turkey.

[quote]mwyatt wrote:
Though different antidepressants vary, all of them do seem to cause weight gain. It has something to do with hormone restriction and reduced metabolism (plus some cravings).

I was on Paxil for 5 years with no increase in BF% (maybe because I started the meds at 16). I switched to Effexor three years ago and gained 30 lbs. in 6 months. I lost most of it when I started lifting 2 years ago, but I gain fat more easily than I should, I think.

I’ve seen no evidence that antidepressants affect muscle gain. It hasn’t been a problem for me. I just reduce my caloric intake to 300-400 cals below what is recommended for gaining at my size and fat gain is not a huge problem.

[/quote]

I read it increases dopamone and changes you norpinepherine out put, anyone lse know anything about the hormonal or body changes it does?

[quote]muscle818 wrote:
I read it increases dopamone and changes you norpinepherine out put, anyone lse know anything about the hormonal or body changes it does?[/quote]