T Nation

Can I Reach My Goal?

Hey everyone. I’m 19 years old, 5 9, and weigh about 145 pounds. I’m not fat, but I’m not muscular either. I just started getting into weight lifting and I’ve been working out for about 3 months. I bench about 115 and squat 155.

I need help setting a solid goal for the end of summer (mid August). I want to be able to bench 155 and squat 170+. Now comes the worst part. I’m a vegetarian, so I don’t get much protein in my diet and I don’t know what to do!

Can I reach my goals and if not what should I expect? Any advice or suggestions about routines or protein supplements will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

stop being a little bitch and eat meat

Anyone who tells you you can’t make strength gains while being a vegetarian is either

a) an idiot
b) spouting off bullshit they heard on a web forum
c) trying to sell you something. Probably meat.

Those are solid goals, but you can and should be able to make much better gains in the squat by the end of the summer (12 weeks). Probably closer to squatting 205.

What you’ll need is a solid training program. I recommend Rippetoes, because it’s created those kind of results for others on this forum. If you’ve been doing Rippetoes already, up the volume to Madcows 5x5 or Rippetoe’s Texas method (also a 5x5).

Being vegetarian is no excuse to not be getting a ton of protein. Whey is cheap and effective. If you’re vegan, pea and soy protein will also work. Nuts, beans, and pasta are all also decent in the protein department. make sure you’re getting a gram of protein each day per pound of bodyweight (150 right now, more as the summer goes on and you get bigger).