T Nation

Can I Just Take One Cycle?

Hey I was just wondering that if I decided to do a cycle of roids to help bulk up, would I have to continue with cycles to maintain this new muscle, or would I be able to sustain the new gains with a natural diet and regime!

Sorry if this is a silly question but I am a steroid newb and would only ever want to cycle them ONCE

Yes you could but after being on a cycle it is a common tendency to do another cycle. Both to gain even more muscle and because it feels damn good to be on cycle.

Yes, it’s pretty much like a plan to eat one potato chip while continuing to hold the bag in the hand.

Though I know many who have done very few cycles, for whatever reason of doing very few. For example, becoming a doctor and just not wishing to have people scrutizing and questioning unusual changes in the physique, getting married and not wanting the wife to view the physique as being a product of steroids (when in fact it IS mostly the product of very hard work and genetics), and other reasons. So it’s not as if it’s too hard to stop if there is good reason to do so.

As for keeping the gains, a lot has to do with whether your usage took you past where your body ever could have gone with natural training. If not, then generally the gains are maintainable (though the extra glycogen and glycogen-associated water, and other extra water if any, will not be maintained.)