Can I Gain More Muscle by Increasing Big Lifts?

I am confused on the notion of diminishing muscle gains over the course of training time…

If I’m naturally skinny, if my big lifts haven’t increased for over a year (I wasn’t actively increasing the weight), and I have a large margin to improve on, would I gain more muscle? Or does the fact that I have been lifting for 3+ years mean I can’t gain more muscle?

I’m 6’2, 147lbs and am trying a cut from ~17% bf, for the next few weeks (2 weeks in right now)…

Yes, increasing your numbers on thebig lifts should help you gain more, certainly at 147 @ 6ft 2 you have a ton more size building potential to tap into.

1 Like

I am confused about why you’d go to the gym and never increase the amount of weight on the bar?

5 Likes

Following programs that include things like super high volume, thus using lower weight for reps. Also a health issue had me feeling fatigued the entire winter and I just couldn’t get much done at the gym.

There is no timer in your body that amplifies your myostatin after a set amount of time has gone off. You have LOTS of room for growth.

Diminishing returns isn’t over the course of training time: it’s over the course of training RESULTS. That OFTEN correlates with time, but that’s assuming effective training.

4 Likes

6’2 147lbs? The word cut should never come out of ones mouth.

6 Likes

This doesn’t seem right. Are you sure?

If your big lifts actually haven’t increased in over a year, this should be a big red flag that you’re doing something fundamentally wrong.

Just to clarify: you’re 147lbs at 6"2, with moderately high bf and you’ve been training consistently for over 3 years? Unless there’s some big piece of the puzzle I’m missing, you need to completely rethink what you’re doing because it is absolutely not working.

3 Likes

Either the op is completely is undereducated on this subject. Or someone is trolling .

Not trolling… Genuinely want to know what I should be doing