T Nation

Can I Do it Natty or Do I Need Gear?

So I’m asking the obvious… I’ve been training for a few years and I’m struggling to put on quality size. I can get fat and bulk up no problem, I can get really strong too but the problem is this usually comes hand in hand with getting fat (for me anyway)… hence my problem. I eat clean food and a lot of it, enough to put on weight and get stronger, but anytime I cut off the fat I’m left with the same amount of muscle I started with. It’s starting to piss me off tbh. I guess the real question I’m asking… can I put on muscle without losing my abs if natty?? Thinking about my first cycle and wondering if this may be the answer…

Height: 5.5
Weight: 65kg

Bench: 100kg
Dead: 160kg
Squat: 150kg

So… you’re little. Not to be harsh… I’m a manlet too. But 143lbs even at 5’5" can’t be near your natural peak… at least I hope not. You should be able to get at least 20-30 more lbs on your frame natty without getting excessively fat. Do that… then reconsider cycling.

3 Likes

Have you thought about getting your testosterone levels checked? Maybe you’re low and you just need to get your levels up to get the muscle growing. How do you feel otherwise?

Check total T, free T, LH, SHBG, E2, if you’re feeling a bit run down I’d check thyroid also, at least TSH, free & total T4 & free & total T3.

I think I’d start there before jumping on a cycle. You’ll want that info anyways so you can see how you recover once your done. Others may have additional suggestions.

1 Like

Yea i got an underactive thyroid and take meds which they say is balancing my hormones but I’m not sure. Eating 3’000 to 4’000 calories a day just to sustain a frame my size can’t be normal surely… but doctors say it’s nothing to worry about