T Nation

Can I Cut for MMA and Feel/Look Good?

Hey friends,
I love my body and I love my sport. I am a competitive amateur MMA fighter that loves to stand up and strike! I also love my muscles - lifting heavy is my shit. So when the time comes to cut weight, I'm always bummed by the thought of putting down the heavy barbell for the next few months as I cut my weight.
The last few weight cuts have not been a joy for me. I walk around at 150 lbs. and fight at 135 lbs. By the time I reach my competition weight, my body looks a little dry and sad. My question to other MMA fighters and lifters is, is there any way that I can have the best of both worlds? Do you have any strategies for cutting weight without losing muscle?

I think this is a great question and one I’ve put a lot of thought into myself.
I think that strength training has to be kept in the training program to some extent, for strength maintainance, health and even the psychological factor.

I’ve questioned a lot of peoploe on this topic; the general consensus is; the more disciplined we are (and the closer we stay to competition weight) the more we can get away with lifting and the less muscle we sacrifice come game time.

I hate to be one of the nutrition pedants, but it does come down to the fuel we take in in our everyday lives.
If food is good all the time and we don’t jump too high on the scales we can keep lifting.
I love to lift 4x a week, but if my weight jumps I’ll cut it to 3x or even 2x full body sessions.
I can then increase conditioning or sparring relative to the lbs I need to shed.

I definitely adjust my caloric intake and composition when whittling down.
For me BCAA’s intra-workout are playing a key role in retaining what muscle I have.