Can Football be Considered a Strength Sport?

Well, I just started playing football… never played before so i decided i would start goin out to practice with a buddy of mine… its just for fun… but anyway, they put me on defensive line… anyone got any good pointers whos been playin footbal for a while? thx

quick hands are a plus on the dline. also you gotta be able so figure out weaknesses in a game situation pretty quick. if you can make on the fly adjustments like that you’ll be money in the bank.

Football is the defintion ofa strength sport if you ask me.

I think I agree with the prevoius poster. As a D-line man you have to be able to read where the play is going before it gets there.

Hopefully your coaches are teaching you keys ans responsibilites based on your position.

If you are able to read your key and take care of your responsiblities you should do well.

Strength sports: Oly lifting, powerlifting, strongman, Highland games

Football is not a strength sport, just an awesome one. If Roger Goodell has his way, it will get less awesome every year.

[quote]Steel Nation wrote:

Football is not a strength sport, just an awesome one. If Roger Goodell has his way, it will get less awesome every year.[/quote]

Craziness. Especially considering olympic and power lifting is used to prepare for the season?

Football is never a strength sport, nor is rugby. Both are fucking awesome though.

[quote]JGerman wrote:
Steel Nation wrote:

Football is not a strength sport, just an awesome one. If Roger Goodell has his way, it will get less awesome every year.

Craziness. Especially considering olympic and power lifting is used to prepare for the season?

[/quote]

By your argument, any athlete that squats, benches, deadlifts, cleans, and snatches is training for a strength sport.

Are you sure you want to make that leap?

Leap?

Nascar and bodybuilding are a sport too…and I never said that anyone who does those lifts is training for a strength sport.