Calves Mystery...

Hi everyone. Just to give you a bit of background: I’m 17, 1.75m (5’ 9"), 67kg (148 lbs) and I’ve been working out seriously for about 5 months now.

I’ve got very big calves and for the past 5 years I’ve always considered myself “fat” for this reason, despite being very lean everywhere else (face, arms, stomach (no six-pack though)). So when I began training, eating “right” (i.e. with a plan and with restraint), and supplementing appropriately, my initial goal, despite Mike Roussell’s advice (http://www.T-Nation.com/findArticle.do?article=06-171-diet) was to cut fat and hopefully abate the stigma that a teenager must endure when viewed as “fat”.

Before I started working out seriously, I had been doing a bit of weight training every now and again, working only my upper body as I didn’t want to add size to my already well-oversized calves.

Long story short, I had my bodyfat measured recently and I’m at 6.5% according to a 7-point formula that did not include any calf skinfold measurement (closest was a thigh measurement). My abs are clearly visible, yet my damn calves are still way too big! To give you an idea, my wrist circ. is 16.7cm (6.57") and my calf circ. is 40.3cm (15.87"). What gives?

I’ve never done any direct calf work in my life, although when I was younger I used to cycle quite a bit. Whatever the cause, I definitely don’t like the way my calves look, and will do pretty much anything to change them. I read in Cosmo (don’t ask) about doing Pilates to lengthen your muscles; not sure how much truth there is in that.

What confuses me most is that I have a six-pack, yet such big, ugly calves. JB DOES say (http://www.johnberardi.com/articles/qa/afc/afc_jun212002.htm) that guys lose fat in their abs first and legs last, but surely my body wouldn’t burn ALL fat everywhere else in my body before even burning ANY from my legs?