T Nation

Calves Help Please

First post on T-Nation. I just recently joined but I have been checking the site daily for the last 3 years. The only reason I never joined is because I never had a question I could not find an answer to somewhere on the site. You guys provide a lot of great information so thank you for that.

Anyway,I’m sure I’m going to take heat for this as there are a million calves articles/threads but I have a question that I feel has not ever been answered directly. When I work my calves, I have to work them brutally hard to feel any type of pump or soreness in them after the sets. Furthermore, I only ever feel that pump in my lower calf, or what would be referred to as the soleus, and I’m never sore the next day.

No matter what exercises I do, no matter what rep scheme, intensity, or foot placement I use, I never feel my gastrocnemius working. I do donkeys, standing, seated, leg press, and unilateral work at both high and low rep schemes and I never feel it. I have been working them consistently 3 times a week for a year and I honestly can still not feel them working. I think the only reason they’ve grown a little (a very little) is from heavy (for me) squatting and dead lifting.

Please trust me when I say I’ve read every calf article on this site and have tried every remedy to no avail. Also, my diet is not great because I am a broke college student so I eat what I can when I can. Than ks for any help and sorry if this is a stupid under/over detailed post.

If you’re not already, I would do is start doing a 2-3 second pause at the bottom of every rep, and pause at the top of each rep for about a second. It’s hard to cheat this way, the pause at the bottom takes out the stretch-reflex that the calves have. Make sure your range of motion is nearly 100% most of the time.