Calves And Tall People

anybody have any tips for building calves on tall people? primary goal being size (obviously). i’m ridiculously tall so my calves have always been lagging (not saying i’m able to say that everything else is where i want it to be [yet]. i’m still new to weightlifting). i just want to get on top of this weakness before everything else gets out of proportion since i know that calves are difficult to build on people of my height.

for example:
ideal rest between sets
fatigue loading (going to failure [y/n?])
volume vs progressive overload
bodyweight high volume vs weighted
seated vs standing
frequency?

thanks, yo.

Well I’m tall (6’5) and have 17.5 inch calves (started with 15) that aren’t totally fat so take my advice for what it’s worth.

Okay so calves have a very short ROM so to compensate I would squeeze (maybe two second pause) at the top of the movement and do a slow negative. You can also do this thing that I call a double pop where you get up to the top then kind of flex your calves up, kind of like you’re trying to get on your tippy toes.

Heavy weight good with form can help. So can lightening the load and really feeling your contractions (pregnant?)

I’m not sure about this but I think calves recover faster so you can do them more often.

Good Luck!

[quote]Meeko wrote:
Well I’m tall (6’5) and have 17.5 inch calves (started with 15) that aren’t totally fat so take my advice for what it’s worth.

Okay so calves have a very short ROM so to compensate I would squeeze (maybe two second pause) at the top of the movement and do a slow negative. You can also do this thing that I call a double pop where you get up to the top then kind of flex your calves up, kind of like you’re trying to get on your tippy toes.

Heavy weight good with form can help. So can lightening the load and really feeling your contractions (pregnant?)

I’m not sure about this but I think calves recover faster so you can do them more often.

Good Luck![/quote]