T Nation

Calories Or Combinations?

Hi all,

Despite having trained with weights for the past 12 years I’m a relative newbie in terms of following the nutrition guidelines found on T-nation such as having P+C and P+F meals etc etc. I’m still in the process of developing my own food log so that I can plan my meals a lot better. I’ve been reading through all the articles here on the topic and should get myself sorted out soon.

I do have one question though, is it more important to make sure you have the right amount of calories each day compared to how you combine the carbs, protein and fats?

I’ve always been a fairly healthy eater (eg eating heaps of fruit and veggies, drinking heaps of water, staying away from bad breakfast cereals etc) so I have found making changes to my diet so far relatively easy, all I have had to do is cut out some junk foods and add supplements such as fish oils and flax oil.

The main trouble I am having is planning on what to have for dinner each night as the eating plan I am trying to follow clashes with what what either my wife wants to eat or what is easy to make if we are restricted for time, which is happening a lot at the moment. I workout in the mornings so I have P+C early on and P+F in the afternoon/evening. My wife has just started training at my gym and mostly goes in the evening so you can see that there is a clash when I have been stuffing myself with food all day since my workout and she is hungry after the workout and looking for an easy meal like spaghetti bolognaise or some pasta dish which is easy to make (they are often my favourites as well) as well as full of carbs to replenish her energy supplies. We also like eating stir fries with heaps of veggies but then there is the issue of having rice, although we have converted to brown rice from white.