Calorie Surplus

This may be moved to beginner section, it’s a basic concept but I wanted the audience from here. Anyways I get that in order to gain weight you have to be in a calorie surplus, and obvious the opposite is true for losing weight. However, do you have to be in a calorie surplus to gain muscle mass? For example I’m 200lbs, but prlly around 15% bf (just a guesstimate).

If I maintain my current calorie intake but continue progressing in my lifts will I gain muscle mass cause I have enough of a surplus to have some excess bf? Or do I need to increase my calories in order to see improvements in muscle mass? I’m currently not doing the big compound lifts cause of an injury, but I’m slowly transitioning back into heavy training. Very slowly.

Ive been maintaining 200 lbs for about 2 months now, and I’m gonna very slowly bring up my squat and posterior chain strength, while simultaneously increasing upper body movements I can do such as weighted dips and chins. Basically I’ve been in a rut for about 6 months, and I’m looking to start making some more serious gains again but I don’t think my current training allows for enough stimulus to really do a bulk.

Should I maintain for the next few months once I can start lifting a bit heavier or should I start slowly increasing calorie intake as I progress with movements that may not be as ideal as squats and deads and presses, but are heavy chins and dips. I know this is all over the place so if further clarification is needed let me know.

[quote]bulkNcut wrote:
This may be moved to beginner section, it’s a basic concept but I wanted the audience from here. Anyways I get that in order to gain weight you have to be in a calorie surplus, and obvious the opposite is true for losing weight. However, do you have to be in a calorie surplus to gain muscle mass? For example I’m 200lbs, but prlly around 15% bf (just a guesstimate).