T Nation

Calorie Issues

I've got to find a way to consume 5-6000 calories a day and have absolutely no idea where to begin. Can you help me? I am a student so cost is a big issue, I also need to be able to take the majority of what I'm consuming with me onto campus. Please assume I will be on campus between 10-6 every day, training 12-4 or 9-1 most days.

Also, its for a new program I start on Monday. Its 4 sessions a week, 4 hours a day. With rest days Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday. Only on Wednesday, Sunday I have American Football, and on Saturdays I run for 90 minutes interval training. Would you recommend that I consume the target calories every day? Or just on training days.

Kind Regards,

Charlie, what kind of training are you doing for 4 hours a day?

On Saturday and Sunday, prepare food for the rest of the week and store it in the freezer. Mince is ideal for protein, because you can cook a huge chilli; I would add baked beans and ground almonds (I just throw whole almonds in a blender till they're fine enough). Baked potatoes and rice are easy to cook in bulk. I used to make half my meals whole food and half blender shakes (with things like oats, nuts, whey, cottage cheese, eggs), so I could cut down prep time. Some days I would go to McDonalds a couple of times and order double cheeseburgers: get four of them and make two quadruple burgers by taking a couple of the buns away from each pair. I don't know if that is possible, because if you're on a proper campus, you may not have access to fast food. Is it possible for you to bring a cooler with you? That would be ideal.

Some of the cheap foods you can buy are: EVOO, oats, rice, potatoes (these cost me about six quid for 20kg for reference), cottage cheese, eggs, beef (mince is about �£6 a kilo), turkey, and tuna.

Get a magic bullet blender, a lot of tupperware containers in varying sizes, and some ziplock freezer bags.

Motor oil. Keeps ya running smooth and fairly dense in calories.