T Nation

Caloric Restriction Refeed Day ?

After taking some time attempting to bring up some lagging areas I am now two days
into a caloric restricted diet.

I am following some principles of the get shredded diet (although not following exactly nutrient ratios etc. etc.) but following general template of total calories.

The article calls for a refeed day every 14 days and am not sure if I would really butcher the plan up (more so than I already am) if I ate about 800-1200 calories more every 7 days instead of 14?

Suggestions/advice needed as I have no experience with caloric restriction.

All the articles on here about the subject seem to have no consensus as to what an ideal refeed plan would look like but rather that it is different for every body and should see what works for you.

I really do not know how to monitor if what I will do is working or not other than looking in the mirror but I have nothing to compare to because as I stated I don't have any experience going on severe caloric restriction.

Let me rephrase my question by asking for someone that has never REALLY dieted before what would be a good initial plan for refeeding and when and how should he reevaluate if it needs to change?

Some more information: -never really went on severe restriction before only time I dieted it was over a one year diet and I lost weight very slowly.
-181 lbs no idea what BF is but would say under 15% for sure.
-eating 1700-1900 kcal for the past two days.
-I don't really care about food taste if someone told me take some dirt and put it in a blender mix with water and eat it on your refeed day and it will be good for you I would do it.
-my goal right now is to get reasonably lean (~8%) by late march/early april (although I might want to keep going once I get there)
-I just started following the training plan of one day heavy/one day lactate inducing workout/one day off repeat(as outlined in the article about minimizing fat loss)