Calling All Trainers

I’m a trainer at a chain gym here in Canada. I love the job, but would love to get out and do my own thing even more.

My question(s) to all you other trainers is, do you work in or for a gym? Do you run your own business? If you run your own business, where do you train your clients? Were there problems in starting that you didnt anticipate? What advice would you give a trainer who is wanting to get out and start his own training business?

Thanks to everyone for your time!

[quote]kheaslim wrote:
I love the job, but would love to get out and do my own thing even more.[/quote]

That’s great, man. It’s a big step, but a worthwhile one.

[quote]
My question(s) to all you other trainers is, do you work in or for a gym? Do you run your own business? [/quote]

I worked at a gym for a few years but caught the entrepreneurial bug and felt like I had too much of a ceiling over my head.

I own my business now.

[quote]

If you run your own business, where do you train your clients? Were there problems in starting that you didnt anticipate? [/quote]

I was lucky enough to have some space available. My family owns and operates a Tae Kwon Do studio, and I set up shop there. I only had a couple hundred square feet for weight stuff, but did well with all the basic equipment.

Stuff I didn’t anticipate and random thoughts:

1. You have to make sure your systems are in place. Everything from program design to thank-you cards to, well, everything.

A corporate gym will already have that stuff in place for you. Make sure you’ve got all your forms (Par-Q, health history, training purchase agreement, etc.).

1. If you’re great at what you do and deliver results consistently you’ll have absolutely no problem getting clients. In fact, you’ll have more problems managing growth.