T Nation

Calling All Swordsman

Aside from my MMA record, I never competed in Kendo. I have been practicing for four years, hardly time to jump into a tournament, but I have been weilding blades for as long as I can remember. I competed in several Pennsic tournaments, though a great workout, not nearly as brutal anymore. I practiced with the SCA, Kingdom of the East, and became particularly good at Medieval, dual-wield blade combat. I have a collection of exotic blades (as featured above) from Angelsword, Buhko-Taigun, Ramier, Avalon/Percival, and Avatar. ( www.angelsword.com )

The one above is an Angelsword I bought at the New York Renaissance Faire (Tuxedo) where I used to work. Its a fantastic blade, paid a lot of money and its in my will to go to my nephew ( i have no kids, im 20 ) should I die before I do have kids.

Ive practiced blade combat longer then I practiced MMA, and I never officially won anything for my skills. Aside from my guilt trip, are they any T-Nationers out there who play/practice/compete with swords? Id like to get some new ideas to what sword I want next too, so If you have one (or like me, many) post em, show those beauties off.

Bump.

Im drinking entirely too much in the postings, please bare with me.

One more thing… Pennsic and the SCA have gone downhill and in retrospect seem kinda gay. The whole thing just got pussified and Im glad I left when I did. Many moons ago…

Another beauty. I call her Soulshriek. I was high and playing D&D at the time.

Keep em coming, I’m no swordsman but i like the subject matter

I really don’t have any skill at all, but I certainly enjoy swords. There’s something elegant and artistic about blade combat that guns (while more effective weapons) cannot compare to. Knights and samurai have always captured imaginations, and I think the sword is partially why.