Calling All Musicians

I’ve made the decision that I finally want to learn how to play music. I have no experience whatsoever (but my brother is the finest guitar player I know, if that counts).

I’ve always had a deep desire to learn the piano.

So, where would a guy start? Lessons? Videos? Books?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

:slight_smile:

Definitely lessons all the way. You can’t learn all the nuances from a book or video. It’s a touch-oriented instrument and a very sensitive subject.

Definitely some lessons. If you’re going to play guitar, learn those chords and scales like there’s no tomorrow. I would take a formal class if available nearby, and as far as instructional videos go, it’s been a while since I looked at them but back in the day, Doug Marks’ Metal Method was good, and I’ve heard good things about the Mechanics of Metal series.

It’s a touch-oriented instrument and a very sensitive subject…

Chris…

I fully expect you to insert your own punchline here---->*

“I don’t think there’s a punch-line scheduled, is there?”

~ Vince Lombardi

Fuck lessons.

I taught myself guitar by just playing tunes. I figured the scales out by just listening and playing… actually a couple of my buddies started at the same time so we learned from each other. Learning some classical tunes was the best thing I ever did… Bach and Francisco Tarrega…

I’ve never owned a piano so I never really had the chance to learn. I can jam out a little bit when I have some time to sit down at someone elses.

I say just pick it up and start playing songs. If you don’t want to learn to read music right away… get tablature for the guitar or whatever the easyway is to learn songs on the piano.

Actually I learned by ear for the most part (my first two years of playing), but once I took a formal class (what guitar player wouldn’t love to earn a whole credit hour in college playing the six-string) things came together so much better.