Calling All Freeride/ DH Addicts...

I just wanted to see if there were many other T-dudes addicted to the speed and adrenalin rushes that define DH and big hit riding. I’m hoping to get a place going where we can talk shop, compare bikes/ parts experinces and trail info. Maybe even get a ride organized for Whistler or Moab or the like.

To get started what kind of bikes are you guys riding? I’ve got a couple but my baby is a Turner RFX w/ an '04 Super T, Avid Juicy’s w/ 8 inch rotors, custom tuned Romic shock, WTB Laser DH rims laced to Hadley hubs w/ Stan’s No-Tubes conversion, Gozzi 2.3 front and Maxxis Minion 2.3 rear, race face cranks, seat post and handlebars. Basically one mean ass freeride machine…seen 14 foot drops, 25 foot gap jumps as well as some pretty grueling climbs. …What about you guys?

Trail bike: Maverick American
Freeride bike: VP Free

Both are equipped appropriately.

Hell Ya! I love the freeride/DH stuff. I started riding mtn bikes about 20 years ago. Was a X-country freak (endurance rides like the Leadville 100, Tubac 50 and some local shorter racing) until I decided to start taking the gym seriously and got over 200lbs. It’s hard to compete in X-country at that weight when everyone else is 150 soaking wet. I always loved the technical stuff so I decided to get a Santa Cruz Bullit (hence the screen name) and haven’t looked back since. I still have my Cyclocross bike and my Cannondale hardtail “race” bike, but they mostly collect dust these days. I don’t race anymore and work has kept me from riding consistently over the past couple of years, but I still get out there and beat it up every once in a while. There are some realy nice rides around Tucson.

How do you like those raceface cranks? Do you have the meaty FR/DH cranks? Those things are sweet.

[quote]Bullit wrote:

How do you like those raceface cranks? Do you have the meaty FR/DH cranks? Those things are sweet.[/quote]