T Nation

Calling All EMT's

I'm an EMT over here in the UK. I'm seriously contemplating a move to the US to work.

EMT's over here can carry out most of the tasks as a paramedic apart from cannulation and intubation. What would be the equivalent in the US? EMT basic or intermediate?

I also know that yopu have to be certified by the NREMT to apply for jobs in all states.

As I'm an EMT only, and not a firefighter/EMT ( the fire service is seperate in the UK) I would be looking for a position with an ambulance service. I need advice on the public v private providers in the US.

All advice welcome,
Witchfinder

I'll try to answer as best I can. I have never worked as an EMT, but I went through the training as a civilian in 98, and an EMT course through the Army last year. I can't promise you accuracy, but here is my best shot;
The NREMT has through levels; EMTB (basic), no meds ( glucose,nitro and 02 only, assisting w/prescribed meds), no combitube only, no IVs, no manual defibulation.
EMTI (intermediate) is nationally recognized, but not by all states/jurisdictions. It includes IV initiation and maintence, defibrilation, some meds.
Most EMT's that I know of are private sector. Some fire departments run a medical crew, EMT and medics only, no firefighting involved.
I don't know about the current job market, but back in 98 when I looked at getting into it, an EMTB didn't pay, maybe $7-9/hr, depending on location and Union. Paramedics made more, around $15-17/hr.
I would have to guess, location is key here. Do you have a destination in the States in mind? If you can't find local ambulance info online, contact the local
FD and they can guide you. Good luck.

I assume that You'll be a basic...cuz you should have to take a new class. Cuz I doubt the NREMT will give you a cert...let alone most states.

DieselD

WF~