T Nation

Calling All 1811s

As some of you may remember, I am an attorney who has been thinking of a career in law enforcement for a long time. I have been talking to several current and former cops as well as several current and former FBI agents. I just completed my paper work for the FBI and will formally apply in the coming days.

However, I am contemplating applying to other federal agencies as well. To that end, I would love to hear any and all 1811s in any agency (BATF, DEA, FBI) give me a brief rundown of what a typical (I know, no such thing really) week might look like.

One of the things that concerns me about the FBI is a relative lack of actually hitting the streets relative to some of the other agencies. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I am a city cop, so I cant give you first hand knowledge of any Federal positions, but I can relate what I’ve heard/seen. First, I’m pretty sure DEA is on a hiring freeze right now(and has been for some time). As for FBI, I know ALOT of what they do is behind the desk. A friend works in the Los Angeles office and is assigned to Gangs. You would think that would be a good gig. He says its basically all paper work and wiretaps to build up a case, then you get about 5 minutes of action. Additionally, IMHO, the FBI is hiring pussies. Unless you’re going straight to HRT out of the military, they are looking for guys with accountant backgrounds and analysts etc. Not guys who want to get their hands dirty. Again this is just my opinion. Good luck.

[quote]Bootsie wrote: