T Nation

Calisthenics Programming at Home

Hey guys,

I recently started going to a powerlifting gym after getting interested and seeing it as a good way to get fit which I posted about in the powerlifting forum, however it was very short lived as this week me and my girlfriend have decided to move into a flat together and seeing as we are both cash strapped I can not afford gym fees, we are on a very tight budget for the foreseeable future but it beat.
s living too far away to see each other only 2 days a week.

Seeing as I am new to working out anyway and very out of shape i am thinking I will be able to get a lot out of calisthenics anyway, I can only manage about 5-8 decent pressups and can't even do chinups or dips so there is plenty of room for improvement.

I have a shoulder impingement too and reading up on the subject it seems pressups are reccomended to strengthen the area calisthenics can be done with just a chinning bar and dip bars so lots of money saved.

Any ideas on how to set up a program like this?

For example how would I set up pulling movements to be 2x that of pressing movements if i can't do chinups, how should i progress when I do lower body movements and how often is can bodyweight stuff be done?

For the last 7 days I have been doing presusps every hour for a set to faliure and my max went from 3 to 8 since then, I am also doing burpees and air squats daily.

I have lost 9 pounds and dropped an inch off my waist just doing that and eating sensibly. I don't want to procrastonate and plan so I am going to continue working out but if anyone could give any good advice about bodyweight programming please let me know.

I do not have a specific answer to your question, but I do have an alternative you may want to consider.

Buy a kettlebell. You can do a lot with just one bell, and I believe it would complement a bodyweight program very well without breaking the bank or occupying any significant space in your new flat.