T Nation

Buying Food on a Budget

I wasn’t sure of where to post this… But here it goes.

Does anyone have any good tips on where to get the most food for your buck? I find myself spending roughly $100 on food every week and I’m a student so I can’t really afford that. Any tips would be appreciated. I always look through coupons for discounts.

I live in san francisco and usually go to Safeway and get the extreme value packs for meat. I don’t have a car or a Costco membership so thats out of the question.

I eat mostly chicken breast, red meat, salmon, whole green beans, broccoli, potatoes/rice, peanuts.

Walmart for me, im a student. I spend roughly $40 on food a week. I eat chicken breast, eggs, peanuts, pickles, frozen veggies ($1 a pound at walmart), peanut butter, rice, Franks Hot Sauce (for chicken) and used to eat oatmeal with splenda to sweeten it. If I wanted more carbs I would look at pasta/canned beans, but I only eat carbs around my workout and its usually white rice and chicken. I only buy frozen veggies/pickles because I love to eat and they don’t have much cals, plus they are cheap. Some ideas for you take them as you will.

Thats all I eat, every week its pretty much the same with the occasional fast food run when im drunk, though im not a picky eater at all. My advice if you don’t have a lot of money and aren’t afraid to eat the same thing every day: Don’t buy fish and red meat. Im guessing fish may be cheaper for you on the coast, but here its pretty expensive compared to chicken. That has to be where all your money goes, everything else on your list is pretty cheap.

Forgot to mention I use protein powder as well, so I am not getting all my protein just from food. Helps with cost some. I assume you do too but if not look into that.