Buying a Belt

So… I was wondering if you guys could give me some advice on buying a belt. I’ve always lifted beltless, and now I want to get one to use for squatting and pulling.

I’ve known “academically” how to use a belt for a long time, but just didn’t think I needed one. My last free squat workout I threw one on after some ribbing from my chiropractor and I topped my previous PR’s.

Now, my squat is admittedly weak, but I’ve pulled double bodyweight at 250, so I don’t think I’m short changing my core strength at this point by getting a belt for ME pulls and squats.

So what kind do you think I should get? I am leaning towards going whole-hog and getting the power belt from Elite but I also like the 13mm cam lock from Inzer. Then again, I’ve never used a camlock before. Do I really need to be careful about width if I want to do some unequipped competitive powerlifting?

Also, how does the sizing work? Same as pants sizes? Keep in mind I’m a big fat guy, if that makes any difference in choosing.

Thanks,

Conor

To be honest, I would say keep lifting without one. If you’re going to buy one, go to a store and get a cheapy to make sure that you want one, and will use it. I have a belt that I’ve used twice in the past 6 months. That is only because I was maxing. Since I quit using a belt, my back feels a lot better, and I my technique has also gotten better.

go to EliteFts and buy the power belt. I would go either single prong or double. I’ve tried levers and I just don’t think I can get them really tight. I know you are supposed to be able to, but that is my opinion.

[quote]conorh wrote:
So… I was wondering if you guys could give me some advice on buying a belt. I’ve always lifted beltless, and now I want to get one to use for squatting and pulling.

I’ve known “academically” how to use a belt for a long time, but just didn’t think I needed one. My last free squat workout I threw one on after some ribbing from my chiropractor and I topped my previous PR’s.