Business Screw-Up: Your Preference (Poll)

Here’s a fairly generic question, serious replies appreciated.

If a service-business offered a 97% discounted, no-contract-required, service package, paid in front (say the total paid was ~$10), and then for any reason was unable to provide said service package in the form offered, would you prefer:

A. Refund

or

B. Different service of greater value to service provider

?

Keeping in mind, you would not be offered only A or B, but would have a choice between the two.

As a new business owner, I put myself into a situation where the above question is one I will need to ask.

If option B would give me everything I originally wanted plus something extra, I would do that. If I had to change my expectations completely for option B, I would take the refund and probably look for a company that COULD do the original job specified.

A refund…

But it really depends on the service that wasn’t given and how much I paid.

Give specifics

[quote]angry chicken wrote:
Give specifics[/quote]

I have been grooming a second personal trainer to assist with an expected upsurge in business from a deal-of-the-day promotion.

I designed the promotion as very low barrier to entry with a high value ($10 for $400 in service).

I did NOT include attached fees required of potential clients (gym fees), a total which surpasses my ability to pay on their behalf.

I did NOT have a personnel redundancy to cover for the trainer I’ve been training to leave town.

As it stands, I have the ability to offer one week’s service where I had promised four, as well as a six month subscription to a digital training service for which I normally receive $97 per member per month.

(I will point out a few obvious, service-devaluing mistakes I made with this offer either in a later post or in the Personal Trainer Shop Talk thread)