Bush's Latest Executive Order

I don’t know how many people saw this, but I was hoping some of the more legal savvy posters could help cover a few things about it:

I have seen a lot of different opinions saying that this violates the 5th amendment. Or that this give the Executive Office the ability to create a dictatorial police state because the EO does not have to be ratified by Congress. Hopefully someone more knowledgeable can share some insight?

I’m not an expert in this area by any means, but it looks like a fairly typical move by the executive branch, under the President’s power w/r/t foreign relations, to freeze the assets of individuals and countries connected with a hostile or illegitimate group.

I believe we froze Cuban assets after Castro took over, and I’m fairly sure we froze Iranian assets after the hostage crisis and Khomeni coming to power. We recently froze a bunch of North Korean assets for negotiating leverage with them on the nuclear issue.

[quote]BostonBarrister wrote:
I’m not an expert in this area by any means, but it looks like a fairly typical move by the executive branch, under the President’s power w/r/t foreign relations, to freeze the assets of individuals and countries connected with a hostile or illegitimate group.

I believe we froze Cuban assets after Castro took over, and I’m fairly sure we froze Iranian assets after the hostage crisis and Khomeni coming to power. We recently froze a bunch of North Korean assets for negotiating leverage with them on the nuclear issue.[/quote]

But don’t we already have those powers? I mean funds and assets of potential terrorist sponsors get frozen quite routinely.

So why the new executive order?

I’m guessing that they weren’t doing it w/r/t this group of folks related to Iraq.