Burst Blood Vessel in Eye

Hey, last night while benching I guess I blew a blood vessel in my eye and now the white of my left eye is about 1/3 red. I hear this isnt cause for health concern. But MY CONERN, is whether I should rest or if it doesn’t matter and I can still train? Any experience? Will it get worse if I train again?

Thanks,
Adam

I’m not a doctor, but from what I understand, a burst blood vessel in the eye clears up without any treatment in a week or two. Personally I’d train normally and watch it closely and see a doctor if it gets worse.

Thanks mkral. Any else had any experience? I was planning on putting on my squat suit today. Maybe I will give myself an extra days rest from that. Perhaps benching is ok? I burst it while wearing a tight shirt yesterday so I imagine some lighter raw benching wont be too bad? Thoughts?

It’s happened to me before while squatting, and I didn’t notice it being a problem. Felt fine, kept training, didn’t die

My previous pl coach would get broken blood vessels in his eyes all the time from benching heavy, he just ignored it, kept training, trained hard the next session, he was always fine.

Great. Thanks very much guys. I really don’t want to continue to freak people out like this hahaha. People keep taking second looks at me and telling me I need to see a doctor…

I blew out blood vessels in both eyes squatting. For a few weeks, my eyes were both completely red, no white whatsoever. Keep lifting heavy, its not gonna hurt anything.

it’s just part of lifting. i regularly blow out my eyes, have ruptured my eardrum, have huge nose bleeds, get broken blood vessels in my face, neck and chest. i’ve had bruises in the creases of my arms at the elbow from the skin stretching from doing heavy pulls.

no big deal. i find that vagisil has helped me the most.

[quote]maraudermeat wrote: