T Nation

Burning Fat and Building Muscles?

I was wondering if I could burn fat and build muscle at the same time. I would do 40-50 minutes running everyday and then do pullups, situps, and pushups every other day. I was thinking though, if I did the running to burn fat, won’t the situps, pushups, and pullups give me muscle and eventually give me more weight in the end? I’m new to this bodybuilding thing so yea. Should I lose all my fat first and then gain muscles? Or should I just try to get muscles from the fat I have right now. My goal is to get slim,lose fat, and gain muscles, and if you guys have any insight for me, it would be appreciated.

[quote]lacedcurtains wrote:
I would do 40-50 minutes running everyday and then do pullups, situps, and pushups every other day.
…I’m new to this bodybuilding thing so yea. [/quote]
Since you are a rank bigger you will see gains in strength even while eating at a calorie deficit and running.

If you want to “get slim” keep doing what your doing.

If you want to build muscle get a real program and eat a calorie surplus.

You will see better results by focusing on 1 primary goal until it is reached. From there reevaluate yourself and set a new primary goal.

oh, ok. good explanation. thanks

You can absolutely do both at the same time. The most important thing is to clean up your diet. Your diet should be comprised of whole non processed foods. Also get rid of the running for 40 mins, and instead add some HIIT a few times a week. If you start with a beginner strength program you will make some of the best gains you will see ever. I personally did Mark Riptoes starting strength program a few years ago and had great success with it.