T Nation

Bulking Worthwhile at This Point?

Hey everyone, this is my first post on here.

some background info, i am 16 years old and i have been lifting seriously for about 8 months and cutting down from 195 pounds at 5'7". I am now at 153. I feel like i'll just end up looking scrawny if i keep cutting because i dont have a large base to cut down to. i still have bothersome fat on the bottom of my chest that hasn't improved much that's the only thing that really bothers me, i'm happy with everything else pretty much.

what i want to know is, if i bulk, will i look better and bigger and have the mass i build on my chest overshadow the fat, or do i have too much bodyfat and i'll just end up looking fat again?

You already look scrawny...

Don't "Bulk" as most people think of it. Eat at maintenance (or slightly above) and bust your a** in the gym.

And to answer your question directly, if you add lean mass to your body your overall body composition will become less fat.

Also, yes building a powerful upper body will overshadow whatever fat you have around your chest. It's not really visible in the pictures so it might just be in your head anyways.

Good job on losing the weight.

What does your training look like right now?

i am currently in the gym 3 days a week
most of my exercises are in 3 sets of 5-7 reps

monday chest/biceps
incline dumbbell flyes
flat bench
incline dumbbell press
cable crossovers
dips
hammer curls
preacher curls
incline curls

wednesday back/triceps
pullups
bent over rows
one-arm dumbbell rows
dumbbell pullovers
EZ bar skullcrushers
dumbbell tricep extensions
dips

friday legs/shoulders
deadlifts
hamstring curls
leg extensions
dumbbell lunges
squats (2 inches below parallel)
seated dumbbell military press
lateral raises
rear delt raises

i think i want to see if i can lose a bit more fat in the time until the school year rolls around (bout 3 weeks for me) then i want to get on an upper/lower split