T Nation

Bulking Queries: Ratio of Fat to Muscle During Bulking

Good day all,

A bit about my progress to date:

I started lifting (free weights) in October 2008. I got some 'newbie' gains in the first couple of months but soon plateaued. After maintaining my routine until march 2009 I then stared a cutting diet (did plenty research and got all my ratios and numbers right, consistently lost ~1.5-2lbs/week) and kept lifting to remind my newly built muscles to stick around. I lost over a stone and reached my goal weight of 140 lbs (<10% BF) after 2 months.

My goal now is, for the first time, to bulk up a bit. I really only want to build my upper body. My legs, I guess it's genetic, are somewhat larger than my top half (thighs are 21" and my chest is 36"). So I want to add a few inches to my arms, chest, shoulders, etc. I am going for a more proportionate aesthetic - the grecian ideal. I'd like to bump my chest up to around 40" and my arms to about 14".

Ideally, I would like to put my body in a positive lean muscles building state to minimise the chance of gaining excessive fat.

Having done plenty research it looks like the diet and routine presented in the forum post "BULKING - A beginner's guide" is suitable for minimising fat gains and optimising lean muscle gain. I will be eating approx. 2900 kcal/day.

I was wondering how much fat (compared to lean muscle) I should expect to gain during my bulking session?

Also, I read that it is good to work the whole body regardless of what 'show muscles' one might be aiming for as it promotes growth hormone release. As my legs are already the size I want them, should I simply increase the reps to 10-12 to stop them getting bigger while on a surplus diet? Or should I stick to upper body only in my case?

Thanks guys and look forward to reading any responses.

You're a guy right? 140 lbs is nothing for a guy. And i'm afraid 21" legs aren't massive. And you don't have very high goals @ 14" arms.