"Bulking" for Former Fat Guys (Some Thoughts)

I have bulked in the past. The old pigfest way and my new way. The pigfest doesnt do shit because I gain size rather easily, but it’s mostly in the form of 25% muscle, the rest fat. It sucks and it’s a pain in the ass to diet for half a year. I learned this a few years ago before I started training athletes and “regular folks”.
The way I do it now is well known and it is a better option because it minimizes fat gain.
I setup my baseline calories and increase the calories by 5-10%, or until I see a 1/2 to 1 pound gain per week. That’s all I am looking for. Anything more and I will deduct 3-5% until I reach that sweet spot. I will continue this for 6 weeks, then pump the brakes and reduce my calories 20% for 3 weeks, then go back to my calorie surplus.
I have noticed a correlation between people who were heavy and now lean. It is probably due to a number of factors including poor carbohydrate tolerance and that we have impaired our satiety levels from overeating. Mostly, this occurs in linebacker built people, or those who are quick to gain weight.
In my opinion, kinny guys can afford to eat everything-but even then, I would exercise caution.

5 Likes

Bulking? You mean like when I try to eat like a normal human and my weight flies up?

6 Likes

Hey Chris, it’s nice to see you on here. You judged my show last October and we spoke a bit at the ANBF show in March (I think that was the month) when my pals on here Rob and Josh earned their ANBF pro cards.

Whats the reasoning behind this mate?

I think the whole “bulking up” approach that was gym lore for decades has finally begun to fall by the wayside as more gym goers actually have access to more information than just weider -protein-powder ads disguised as articles.