Bulking/Cutting Questions for Prof X

I’m asking Prof X these questions for his honest opinion not to argue. I’m sincerely trying to learn and improve. I’m not a newbie either.

1. Do you do cardio only when you are cutting? What kind of cardio do you do?What do you think is more effective for cutting fat off of your body more quickly? low intensity longer duration cardio or shorter duration higher intensity?

2. I tried to “bulk” up a few years ago and did but gained a little too much fat. I know that in order to build muscle you have to put on a little bit of fat unless you are a genetic freak or on roids so I understand that part.

Do you not agree that you can gain strength (even a significant amount of strength) without bulking? I mean look at Eric Cressey. He’s 165-170lbs and can deadlift 601, squat 5 something and bench mid 300’s. I know you hate the word but truly that is high relative strength. Maybe he’s more of the exception to the rule?

1. Do you not think that genetics play a VERY important role in all of this? I mean when I gained weight (I’m an ectomorph), I gained most of it in my face and stomach.

The truth is, I’d love to be huge and have minimal bodyfat but I don’t want to be what I call a “skinny fat guy”.

1. I know you lift 6 days a week but don’t you ever worry about overuse/repetitive injuries especially with muscles like forearms/shoulders that might get taxed daily or near daily? For example: you may work shoulders directly on day 1 but then they get hit again indirectly when you do chest or back on days 2 or 3 so in reality your shoulders and forearms don’t get to rest.

2. I know that you train for strength and eat for size, but do you ever do singles? If not, what’s the lowest rep range you use? 4 or so?

I would also like to add that when I bulked up and gained too much fat before that I wasn’t as knowledgeable as I am now, hardly ever did cardio and ate fast food way too much.