T Nation

Bulking, Cutting, Maintaining diets..?

I’m finally starting out on Monday. I’m 170lbs now, 6ft, semi-lean.

I want to gain as much muscle as possible w/ minimal fat gain for the next 2.5 months…

Then I want to cut down to 5% bodyfat, no matter what weight i’m at.

Once I get to 5%, I just want to maintain until late fall, trying to gain muscle keep bodyfat the same… Then i’ll go on more of a real bulk.

What type of diets would be best for each phase? I’m a complete beginner, 17, 170lbs. I’d like to get to around 180-185lbs before I cut but that might noy be possible–gotta be optimistic though =)

Training for each phase? For the bulk, just intense, lifting 4 days week? For the cut what should I do? And maintanence?

What other advice would you give me? What foods should I avoid? Only supplement i’m taking now is whey and a multivitamin. Is meal timing important or is it just overall calories? My school has pretty crappy lunch, I might just start skipping it.

Go to the FAQ section of the site and read it all, everything you need to know is there. I know it takes time but what you learn is priceless.

T.I.H

I’ve read a ton of articles and I read that FAQ a few months back.

I was just wondering if any individuals here had success bulking – gaining muscle and not adding much fat with a particular diet? Same with cutting and maitenence…

I heard german body comp was good for cutting, I think i’ll try that… not for sure about the diet, I was thinking of maybe a CKD but I want your guys’, the ripeed T-men, opinions…

thanks

Ok, I’ll help you out.