Bulking and Doctor's Concern

I am 21 years old. I started lifting 3-4 months ago, and I have made some very good progress. I gained 30 pounds within that time frame and I can’t see much fat on me. I feel good and I feel stronger.

Now as a part of my physical, I spoke with my Dr about my lifting routine, and informed that I take 6 gr of fish oil 4 scoops of whey, and 2 gr of creatine daily, in addition to a centrum. As far as my bulking is going, I might be indulging too much with dairy and peanut butter, but I eat little to no fast food and I eat healthy. I hardly drink and don’t smoke (last drink was a week before my visit).

I got blood taken from me, and my liver enzymes are deviated from what they are supposed to be. My doctor told me that I need to lay off all supplements for a month and then retake the test.

MY QUESTIONS: Has anyone had a similar problem or have any idea what this liver deviation could be a part of? And secondly, how much is my progress going to suffer without whey, creatine, etc… and are there ways of working around it?

THANKS! :expressionless:

A month off supplements will not make you shrivel up. Any losses is probably mental.

I personally doubt its the supplements that are causing you any issues. There are a lot of doctors out there that think creatine and whey protein is the devil. Dropping creatine for a month wont make much difference to your training and change the whey out for egg whites if you like. 4 cups per day will be about 100 grams of protein. Close to the same as the whey.
Bring some more information here and others may be able to help more.

Like Bushy said, depends on what’s elevated.

Some of my last blood work was a little off center, but within reasonable limits. And I know why the stuff that odd was that way, so no big deal.

I’m guessing that its something other than your supps thats the problem.